Your community matters

2,000 vote early, lagging behind pace of 2016 primaries

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The Granville County Board of Elections said it had recorded more than 2,000 early votes for the 2020 primary, a number less than half of the total early votes cast in the 2016 primary.

Early voting ends Saturday. The primary will be held on Tuesday.

The board of elections reported 2,098 people had voted early as of Wednesday morning. Of those, more than 1,100 ballots were cast at the Oxford early voting site. About another 680 votes were made in Creedmoor and 280 in Wilton.

In the last presidential election year, in which both Democrats and Republicans had competitive primaries for president, 4,889 people voted early in Granville County.

In addition to nominating presidential candidates, political parties this year are selecting contenders for U.S. House and Senate, the state legislature, state governor and Council of State, county commissioners, district court judges and other local races.

Granville County is also holding its election for the county school board. The three seats open in that race are uncontested and will be decided Tuesday, not in November.

Early voting is available at three early voting sites: the South Branch Library in Creedmoor, the Richard H. Thornton Library in Oxford and Tar River Elementary School.

These sites are open Thursday and Friday from 8 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. On Saturday, the last day to vote early, the sites will be open from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

On Tuesday, voters must go to their assigned neighborhood precinct to cast a ballot. Those sites will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. that day.

Citizens who are not registered to vote can still register, but only at an early voting site and only if the immediately cast a ballot.

Voters are not required to show photo ID to vote after a federal court blocked the state’s new voter ID law from going into effect.

To look up if you are registered to vote, who is running in your district or where your election day polling place is, visit

Who is on the ballot in Granville?

It’s not just president. Party voters in North Carolina are picking who will be nominated for U.S. Senate, governor, council of state, county commissioners, district court judges and other positions.

Voters can only vote on some races if they live in a given district.

Constitution Party

President: Don Blankenship, Charles Kraut

Democratic Party

President: Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson, Andrew Yang, Michael Bennet, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, Julian Castro, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar.

U.S. Senate: Erica D. Smith, Steve Swenson, Cal Cunningham, Trevor M. Fuller, Atul Goel.

U.S. House of Representative District 4: David E. Price, Daniel Ulysses Lockwood.

N.C. Governor: Ernest T. Reeves, Roy Cooper

N.C. lieutenant governor: Allen Thomas, Bill Toole, Terry Van Duyn, Chaz Beasley, Yvonne Lewis Holley, Ron Newton.

N.C. Auditor: Luis A. Toledo, Beth A. Wood.

N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture: Walter Smith, Jenna Wadsworth, Donovan Alexander Watson.

N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: Keith A. Sutton, James Barrett, Constance (Lav) Johnson, Michael Maher, Jen Mangum.

N.C. Treasurer: Dimple Ajmera, Ronnie Chatterji, Matt Leatherman.

N.C. District Court Judge District 09 Seat 02: Katherine Burnette, R. Brian Cloninger.

Granville County Board of Commissioners District 1: Zelodis Jay and N. Annette Parham Myers.

Granville County Board of Commissioners District 5: Donnie Boyd, Robert Way.

Green Party

No contested races.

Libertarian Party

President: James Orlando Ogle, Steve Richey, Kim Ruff, Vermin Supreme, Arvin Vohra, Max Abramson, Ken Armstrong, Dan Behrman, Kenneth Blevins, Souraya Faas, Erik Gerhardt, Jedidiah Hill, Jacob Homberger, Jo Jorgensen, Adam Kokesh, John McAfee.

Republican Party

President: Donald J. Trump, Joe Walsh, Bill Weld.

U.S. Senate: Thom Tillis, Paul Wright, Larry Holmquist, Sharon Y. Hudson.

U.S. House of Representative District 4: Debesh Sarkar, Steve A. (Von) Loor, Robert Thomas, Nasir A. Shaikh.

N.C. Governor: Dan Forest, Holly Grange.

N.C. Lieutenant Governor: John L. Ritter, Mark Robinson, Scott Stone, Andy Wells, Buddy Bengel, Deborah Cochran, Renee Ellmers, Greg Gebhardt, Mark Johnson.

N.C. Attorney General: Jim O’Neill, Sam Hayes, Christine Mumma.

N.C. Auditor: Anthony Wayne (Tony) Street, Tim Hoegemeyer.

N.C. Commissioner of Insurance: Ronald Pierce, Mike Causey.

N.C. Commissioner of Labor: Chuck Stanley, Josh Dobson, Pearl Burris Floyd.

N.C. Secretary of State: E.C. Sykes, Chad Brown, Michael LaPaglia.

N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: Catherine Truitt, Craig Horn.

Granville County Board of Education

This nonpartisan election is uncontested.

District 1: Ethel J. Anderson.

District 2: Tom Houlihan.

District 6: Amanda J. LaBrecque.