Your community matters

Granville leaders ink Constitution Week proclamations

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Mayors of three Granville County communities recently signed Constitution Week proclamations proclaiming Sept. 17-23 as Constitution Week in their respective municipalities.

Butner Mayor Terry Turner, Oxford Mayor Jacqueline Sergent, and Creedmoor Mayor Bobby Wheeler each signed proclamations marking the 226th anniversary of the framing of the Constitution of the United States of America. Public Law 915 guarantees the issuing of a Constitution Week Proclamation each year by the president of the United States.

On April 21, 1955, the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution adopted a resolution designating Sept. 17-23 as Constitution Week. Gertrude Sprague Carraway of New Bern, president general of the NSDAR, was the moving force behind honoring the document. Additionally, Carraway was instrumental in the restoration of Tryon Palace in New Bern and was by profession an English teacher and correspondent journalist for several North Carolina newspapers, including the Smithfield Herald, The Smithfield Observer, New Bernian and Raleigh Times, as well as The New York Times.

President Dwight D. Eisenhower issued the first Constitution Week Proclamation on Aug. 19, 1955 and it was signed into public law Aug. 2, 1956. Constitution Week officially begins each year at 4 p.m. when bells across America ring out to announce the beginning of Constitution Week. Communities are encouraged to ring their courthouse bells and church bells to announce the beginning of the anniversary of the framing of this document.

The U.S. Constitution is the oldest and shortest-written national constitution. There are 4,400 words in the U.S. Constitution. More than 11,000 amendments have been introduced by Congress but only 27 have been adopted. Although North Carolina sent five delegates to the Constitutional Convention in 1787, only three, Richard Dobbs Spaight, William Blount, and Hugh Williamson, signed the Constitution.

The National Society Daughters of the American Revolution’s Constitution Hall is located within walking distance of the White House in Washington, D.C. and is the only monument to the Constitution in the country.

One of the largest concert venues in the nation’s capital, DAR Constitution Hall, was the setting last week for the Naturalization Ceremony for over 1,000 new citizens to the country.